Drawing MerleFest

Six years ago I covered my first MerleFest for Country Standard Time, and I’ve gone back every year since. In addition to writing about the festival on the site and on social media, I have also indulged a hobby while watching the various performances–drawing pictures of the artists on stage. I’ve been told my ‘doodle’ drawing style resembles some of John Lennon’s artwork, which I consider a huge compliment. They’re not meant to be exact, just a scribbled/doodled impression while listening to the music. I’ll be back at it for MerleFest 2017, where you can find my coverage on Country Standard Time but also follow me on Twitter @kevingoliver and Instagram @kevinolivercolawriter, because I’ll post this year’s doodles there as the weekend unfolds. If you backtrack far enough on my Twitter feed you can see pieces from the last couple years, but I’ll save you the trouble and post some of my favorites below:

mf zoe and cloyd 2016mf lindsay Lou 2016mf foghorn 2016SC BroadcastersRobert Earl KeenSteel WheelsDonna the Buffalo

Leave a Reply

