A Kickstarter Epidemic?

It started as a trickle, with one or two musicians I know or follow using the fundraising site Kickstarter.com to pay for album recording projects, but lately it has turned into a flood. Just among South Carolina acts, I know of Kickstarter projects open by Sea Wolf Mutiny, Haley Dreis, Leslie, and Mo’ Betta Soul, with American Gun just wrapping up their successful campaign. Add in the artists I like from other areas and I’ve received almost a dozen different solicitations for support in the past month.

If you’re not familiar with Kickstarter, it is a website where one can submit a ‘project’ to receive pledges of support toward a specific monetary goal. The nifty thing is that if the goal isn’t reached, no money changes hands. For independent musicians who can’t afford the five or ten grand a good studio album might cost them it’s an alternative to maxing out the credit card. Most artists offer special rewards or perks for different levels of financial support, starting with free music and going on up to private house concerts, etc.

Is it a good deal, though? For a successfully funded project, Kickstarter takes a five percent cut, then their exclusive payment partner, Amazon, takes another 3-5 percent. If you’re truly independent and don’t already pay a manager ten percent, too, that’s probably an acceptable level of skimming to make use of the tools and ease of use Kickstarter provides.

The bigger question may be whether an artist is ready for an album-length project if they can’t raise the money for it on their own through things like paying gigs. I worked with a band in the early 1990s that paid for a five-song demo by setting aside half of all their gig pay for about six months; the time spent waiting on the recording account to get big enough was used to write more, practice more, and by the time the recording session came around they were ready.

The upside to using something like Kickstarter is that it does get the fans involved on a personal level, and in a fun way depending on the rewards offered. “Allowing” fans to contribute to the recording fund and involving them in the whole process may serve to create more loyal fans who are invested (literally) in the successful completion and promotion of your music.

Ultimately Kickstarter may serve to illustrate just how many truly engaged ‘fans’ you have. If you surpass your goal easily, that could mean you have plenty of them willing to help out to get the perks or just to feel good about helping you. If you can’t come close to the needed funds, perhaps you need to go back to the basics of playing shows in front of real people and building a better fan base before spending their money on your music.

Any thoughts from those out there who have used or are using Kickstarter?

Current Kickstarter projects in South Carolina (click the names to see the project page with videos, info on pledge levels and status of the project):

Leslie

Sea Wolf Mutiny (only three days left on this one)
Haley Dreis
Mo’ Betta Soul Tour 2011 (only twelve days left)
and the successful American Gun project

2 thoughts on “A Kickstarter Epidemic?

  1. I was hesitant when I first thought about putting together a Kickstarter page because I wasn’t sure how I felt about the site. I saw some artists offering to write songs about people that donated and I felt weird about it. When the opportunity came along with the tour I went for it to kind of test the waters.

    You proved a good point about if people can reach their goals or not, it can help identify what you need to work on. For me it was kind of a measuring stick to see how much support we really have for an idea. I’ve seen artists lose money because they’re asking for $30k but only get up to $12k (it’ll suck if you missed out on 12 thousand for over estimating your support).

    I am a fan of the concept and the percentage taken off the top to me isn’t a deterrent at all. Simply because the 10% in total that would have been taken from a manager doesn’t bother me as I pretty much act as manager (booking agent, producer, custodian etc).

    I think ultimately the humbling experience about it (as my project is successfully funded) is to see how much people really care. Someone asked me what’s the difference between doing a Kickstarter and having just a donation button (which is a great question). And my response more or less (even though maybe not a good one) was that it identified a problem so many artists have: Fans want to support but don’t know how. After buying your latest CD and seeing you do a show, they may not know how else to help. Kickstarter helps explain it in an organized way to make your fans say “okay, I can see where this is going” as opposed to being the musical version of holding up a sign saying “will work for food.”

    I know many artists will start pages (I can see tons of my artists friends after seeing my page be successful following suit). And I believe it’s a great resource but more or less as a kickstart (pun intended) and not as a constant source of funding. I don’t think that out of these people that donated over $3k that I could get away with trying to do this again.

    So, as the artists that get the funding we have to be responsible. And for the fans to see an artists do some great shit with their craft and be able to say “I had a hand in that” is a great feeling. For people that donated, I really don’t want to let them down. -PJ

Leave a Reply

