(non)smoking rock ‘n’ roll

Nonsmoking ordinances are becoming more and more common nationwide but since I live in the Tobacco Road South I still have to strip in the hall and take a shower when I get home from a club show at 1 a.m.. So imagine my delight when I spent the weekend in Charleston recently and went to two different venues to see some live music–both places were nonsmoking, due to city or county ordinances. Other than the gaggle of clubgoers on the sidewalk of each place getting their nicotene fix, it was much like any other bar gig by local bands–fans and friends up front, hipsters at the bar, and the mildly interested somewhere inbetween. Now, if only they’d do this in my town, too…

Leave a Reply

